Through his eyes…

April 24, 2013 at 9:43 PM Leave a comment

Tucker said and did some things today that melted my heart in that special way only he can. It was one of those fleeting moments in time when I was given the chance to see the world through his eyes. His pure, honest, optimistic view of life as he knows it.

Let me explain. Tucker is very into paper right now. If he’s not drawing on it, he’s folding it in his own unique version of origami. This evening started in the usual way. I picked him up from school, he folded paper in the car, then folded and drew on some more paper at home.

His latest creation obsession is folding paper into the shape of a cell phone… a flip phone specifically. Then he draws on it to create the screen and keypad, as well as a ga,ing console inside. It’s super neat.

He showed me how to make my own tonight. He even drew instructions on the chalkboard for me. But then he switched gears. He started making name signs for each of us to put on our desks. When he finished mine he told me I could draw a picture and write something on the inside like he had done, and he showed me his. This is what it looked like:

20130424-214335.jpg

20130424-214347.jpg

Can you read it? It says, “I think of myself as a humble protector.” I started tearing up at once and asked him what made hime write that. He said that is who he is and told me to write my own.

After thinking for a moment I wrote the following inside of mine, “I think of myself as a hardworking and loving mother and wife.”

He read it and said, “That’s true and I love you the way you are. And no one can change who you are. Someone could cut off my arm and I would still be who I am in here [pointing to his chest]. No one can change who you are inside.”

Of course I responded with, “And I love you exactly the way you are. You are perfect to me.” Then I gave him the biggest hug ever and he gave me a bunch of smooches.

I am so lucky to have this amazing little boy as my son. And I’m so grateful that his view of himself and the world around him has not been tarnished by the negativity and evil we are so often bombarded with in our daily lives. God bless him and keep him safe and content.

Entry filed under: Motherhood.

Weight Watchers Banana Oat Muffins Baby Girl

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


"It's never too late to be what you might have been." - George Eliot